Gluten-free diet means first of all removing gluten-containing products from the menu, but also watching out for those in which gluten is hidden. What products are allowed in this diet, and which are prohibited? Check what you can eat on a gluten-free diet.
What is a gluten-free diet?
It is a diet that completely excludes gluten in natural and natural products. Gluten is found in wheat, rye and barley. Starting such a diet should be consulted with a doctor and after appropriate testing. At the very beginning, it should be determined whether gluten is the cause of health problems, and if so, what kind of disease you are dealing with.
Basic principles of the diet
In its basic assumptions, the gluten diet does not differ much from the principles of healthy eating. The basis of the menu here is fresh, high-quality products, eaten in 4-5 meals a day. The most important here are vegetables, supplemented in the diet with fruits, gluten-free groats, fresh meat, fish and eggs.
What to eat?
Importantly, consuming gluten-free ready-made products in large quantities is not a good option. These foods are often highly processed and therefore poorer in valuable nutrients that are essential for the body to function properly.
However, if you do opt for processed products, check carefully the information on whether the product is definitely gluten-free. For those containing no more than 20 mg per kg, it may be safe to consume.
Foods that are naturally gluten-free include rice, potatoes, corn, yams, buckwheat, soybeans, lentils, beans, nuts, seeds, vegetables and fruits, among others. Gluten, on the other hand, is found in wheat, rye, barley and all products of these grains.
Rice or buckwheat pasta should be used instead of regular pasta, and rice, potato or corn flour should be used to thicken soups. When baking cakes, use gluten-free baking powder. Natural coffee, honey and tea are also safe on a gluten-free diet.
All gluten-free meals should be prepared using natural products. However, we often don’t have time to cook on the fly, especially with as much attention as is necessary for this diet. This is when it is worth reaching for catering. There is diet catering available at https://www.kapitan-cook.pl/catering-dietetyczny-w-gdansku/, which can be tailored to your requirements.
Where can gluten be hidden?
Among the grain products that may contain gluten are corn flakes, which may contain barley malt, and corn, buckwheat or rice flours, which are available for general sale. Gluten may also be found in processed meats or canned fish and meat. Meat pudding, brawn and liverwurst should also be avoided. You should also be careful with dried fruit.
Is this a weight loss diet?
Many people choose to follow a gluten-free diet not for health reasons, but to lose weight. Gluten itself does not cause weight gain, and an improperly implemented gluten-free diet can lead to vitamin, fiber, or folic acid deficiencies. In the case of healthy individuals, it is most beneficial to limit the eating of gluten especially in the form of white bread, but there is no need to eliminate gluten completely from the diet. This may result in later gluten intolerance in people who did not have this problem before.
Main photo: Vie Studio/pexels.com